Come Over To The Foodie Side


I’ve loved brussel sprouts ever since I was little. I know, weird that a child would LOVE them, but I did. My mom would even pack them in my lunch and I would eat them cold. If only more people in my life enjoyed them as much as I did it would make my life a little easier. I have slowly started to draw people over to the brussel side, but it’s been a challenge.

I tend to eat brussels plain – but still tasty – by roasting them with a little salt, pepper and garlic. In an attempt to up my brussels repertoire, I created this recipe which adds another dimension of flavor to my usual method.

I call this “twice cooked” because that’s exactly what you do. This method consists of roasting first and then sautéing. Two simple methods of cooking that make this recipe cheap, easy, fast and super tasty!

Serving size: 4 People Under $10

What you’ll need:

  • Baking sheet
  • Cutting board
  • Sauté pan
  • Wooden spoon
  • Garlic press

RECIPE:

  • 1 lb. Brussel Sprouts
  • 3 Cloves of Garlic – sliced super thin using your garlic press
  • 1 tsp. Red Wine Vinegar
  • 4 Tbsp. Olive Oil
  • ½ Cup Chopped Almonds (use slivered if you have them)
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

Preheat your oven to 375 Degrees.

While the oven is heating, slice the brussel sprouts in half, discard the leaves that are yucky, place in a colander and rinse well.

Spread 2 tbsp. of olive oil on your baking sheet. Lay the brussel sprouts and sliced garlic on the baking sheet. Sprinkle with salt, pepper and shake around until the oil is all over the brussel sprouts. Place the baking sheet in the oven for 10 -15 minutes, or until they are slightly caramelized.

Heat the remainder of the olive oil in your sauté pan on medium high heat. Next, add the brussel sprouts from the oven to the sauté pan and stir well for about 2 minutes. Add red wine vinegar to the pan and stir for about 3 minutes.

Lastly, add almonds so they get “toasty” and toss around for two minute; taste them and see if they need more salt and pepper. If they are at your desired taste remove from the pan and serve immediately.

Comments on: "Twice Cooked Brussels Sprouts w. Almonds Recipe" (1)

  1. [...] Twice Cooked Brussels Sprouts w. Almonds Recipe (thatszogood.wordpress.com) Share this:DiggEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. [...]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

