Come Over To The Foodie Side

Greek Orzo Salad


Me: Orzo, why do you look like rice but you are really pasta yet taste better than pasta?!

This is what I would ask Orzo if Orzo could talk. I often find myself talking to food, whether I’m eating it, cooking it or shopping for it. This is why I’m a true foodaholic; because to the outside eye, I’m somewhat insane. Even last night I couldn’t fall asleep because we watched MasterChef and they did a pressure test of a 6 layer cake. So, of course as I lay in bed I started thinking about what my layer cake would be. WHO DOES THAT?! Haha sometimes I scare myself with my food obsession; it’s like a parasite that invaded my mind that I really don’t mind.

But anyways I digress to my love for Orzo and anything Greek inspired.

This salad is perfect for the Lemon Thyme Chicken https://thatszogood.wordpress.com/2011/07/11/lemon-thyme-chicken/

Recipe:

  • ½ box of Orzo
  • 1 tbsp. Olive Oil
  • ½ of a Sweet Onion – Chopped
  • A dash of Red Wine Vinegar
  • 5 Oz halved Cherry or Grape Tomatoes
  • 2 Tbsp. Chopped Fresh Mint
  • ¼ cup crumbled Feta Cheese (or more of you like cheese like me)
  • 1 Lemon – ZESTED
  • Salt & Pepper to Taste

Put a small pot of water on the stove on high to boil, once boiled add the orzo and cook per the instructions on the box – probably 4 minutes. While the water is boiling put the olive oil in a small sauté pan and heat on high. Once the oil has spread around the pan and is hot add the onions and lower to medium. Sautee the onions for 5 minutes and then sprinkle with a small amount of red wine vinegar. Continue stirring the onions until they are browned and almost caramelized.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Once the onions are done add the tomatoes are reduce the temperature to low medium heat. Stir so they are combined. In your serving dish combine the orzo and onion tomato mixture. Next add the mint and feta cheese and stir. Add the lemon zest right before serving and even add a little bit of the squeezed lemon juice for an extra zing.

Comments on: "Greek Orzo Salad" (1)

  1. […] but named a salad. Confusing but really really good and that is all that matters. Brought to you by ThatsZoGood, a meal for anyone who loves Greek food, which let’s be honest is most people. However even if […]

Leave a comment

Tag Cloud