Come Over To The Foodie Side

How to: Roast Figs


I have a crush on figs. It’s a sweet, juicy, scrumptious fruit, which should really be considered a dessert that makes me jump for joy every time I see them. If that doesn’t explain a crush I don’t know what does!

I don’t know why figs have recently come into my life since moving to LA but I don’t even remember figs before moving. I don’t even think I had ever had them until I transplanted myself here.

You can roast figs on a Sunday and have them all week long, just like how I like to keep roasted tomatoes in the fridge for no good reason other than you never know when you might want to add it to something.

The figs I roasted this go around were green, something I wasn’t used to seeing. Usually figs are brownish purple and are in the shapes of teardrops. They also are very soft, which is why I gently rinse them off using a damp towel instead of submerging them in the hard pressure of the faucet. I found these green babies at the Larchmont Farmers market this Sunday and the farmer told me that the green ones are actually even sweeter than the dark ones; boy was I in for a treat!

I love using my cast iron skillet for roasting because it adds an element of flavor that is indescribable but if you have one use it for roasting and you won’t regret it.

Step 1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees

Step 2. Rinse your figeraoonies using a damp paper towel

Step 3. Cut them in fourths without going all the way through to form almost a flower/starfish shape.

Step 4. Place them on your pan or skillet and spray with a little olive oil

Step 5. Bake in the oven for 30 minutes or until a little goldeny brown

Serve as an appetizer, in salads, crostini style or on a sandwich.

Comments on: "How to: Roast Figs" (1)

  1. […] 4 Roasted Figs cut into 1/4ths see how to roast figs: […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

