Come Over To The Foodie Side


Let me start by saying that I have been wanting  to make pad Thai for about 6 months now, but I kept getting scared to try something that I love so much. I was convinced it was going to come out bad and ruin my taste for wanting to cook Thai food. Boy was I wrong!

It actually came out really really tasty!

I kept looking up recipes for pad Thai and I found about 10 that looked good, yet they all were so different. It was giving me anxiety at the thought of attempting to make something that has so many conflicting ingredients per recipe. This is when I decided to just go with my gut and go off of three of my favorites I found and somewhat create my own as I go. Luckily this is a good recipe to create with your own twist because the you make the sauce on the side.

Yields: 6-8 Servings ; Under $25 To Make

What you’ll need:

  • Small Sauce pan
  • Wok
  • Cutting Board
  • Sharp Knife
  • 2 Small Prep Bowl
  • 2 Large Prep bowl
  • Strainer

RECIPE:

  • 1 bag of Rice Noodles (I like the thicker ones) – 16 0z.
  • ½  cup peanut oil
  • 4-6 tbsp. tamarind paste (found in most ethnic stores)
  • ½  cup fish sauce
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • ¼ cup Dark Brown Sugar
  • 4 tbsp. rice vinegar
  • 6-8 Dried Chiles – Cracked Open
  • 6 Scallions – Chopped (set 1 tbsp. to the side for garnish)
  • 4 Garlic Cloves – Chopped
  • 2 Tbsp. Chopped Ginger
  • 2 eggs
  • 3-4 Large Skinless Chicken Breasts – Cubed
  • 1 Head of Broccoli – Steamed
  • ½  Cup Chopped Peanuts

For this particular recipe I suggest having everything all prepared and into your prep bowls/sauté pan before starting. It made my timing for dinner perfect.

Start by chopping up your garlic and ginger then put those in one small prep bowl. Place your chopped scallions in another prep bowl and set aside. Prepare your broccoli and set aside in a larger bowl. While you’re prepping put a pot of water on to boil. Once the water is boiling add the whole bag of rice noodles and TURN OFF THE FLAME. Submerge them in the water and stir for about 3 minutes. Strain the noodles into a strainer and run cold water over them to stop the cooking. Sprinkle with about 1 tbsp of the peanut oil to prevent sticking and set aside.

In a small sauce pan add ½ tbsp. Peanut oil and the rest of the sauce ingredients (which are in BOLD). Heat on high and then reduce to a simmer to keep warm once it is combined well.  While the sauce is being kept warm place the rest of the oil in your wok.  Heat your wok on high and add your garlic, scallions and ginger. Reduce the temperature to medium low heat so the garlic doesn’t burn. Add the Chicken to your wok and toss around in the wok for about 5 minutes or until they are almost no longer pink inside. Dig a whole in your wok so that a decent portion of the surface is showing. Crack both your eggs into the surfaced area and scramble them like you would eggs. Once they are fully cooked, stir them in with the rest of the ingredients. Next, add the noodles to the wok and pour about half of the sauce mixture into it and toss well. Try not to mush the noodles while mixing them into the sauce. Once the sauce is mixed into the noodles add the broccoli and mix again. This is where you taste and decide if you want to add more sauce or leave it the way it is. Once it is at your desired taste remove from the heat, plate and serve with crushed peanuts, scallions and limes on the side for your eaters!

Who needs Thai takeout anymore??? Not me J

*These were the 3 recipes I gathered before venturing on my pad Thai experience:

http://savorysweetlife.com/2009/06/a-favorite-thai-stir-fry-noodle-dish-at-home-pad-thai-recipe/

http://www.thaitable.com/thai/recipe/pad-thai

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/04/22/dining/21minirex.html

Comments on: "My First Attempt @ Pad Thai Recipe" (2)

  1. Where do the eggs go?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

